

# Legislative Assembly of Alberta The 31st Legislature First Session

## Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee

Yao, Tany, Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo (UC), Chair van Dijken, Glenn, Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock (UC), Deputy Chair

Dach, Lorne, Edmonton-McClung (NDP) Dyck, Nolan B., Grande Prairie (UC) Irwin, Janis, Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood (NDP) Petrovic, Chelsae, Livingstone-Macleod (UC) Pitt, Angela D., Airdrie-East (UC) Sabir, Irfan, Calgary-Bhullar-McCall (NDP) Stephan, Jason, Red Deer-South (UC) Wright, Peggy K., Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview (NDP)

### **Public Service Commission Participants**

Julie Barron Trish Mills Executive Search Consultant, Executive Search Director, Executive Search

### **Support Staff**

Shannon Dean, KC	Clerk
Teri Cherkewich	Law Clerk
Trafton Koenig	Senior Parliamentary Counsel
Philip Massolin	Clerk Assistant and Director of House Services
Nancy Robert	Clerk of Journals and Committees
Abdul Bhurgri	Research Officer
Christina Williamson	Research Officer
Warren Huffman	Committee Clerk
Jody Rempel	Committee Clerk
Aaron Roth	Committee Clerk
Rhonda Sorensen	Manager of Corporate Communications
Christina Steenbergen	Supervisor of Communications Services
Lyndsay Tischer	Director of Human Resources
Shannon Parke	Communications Consultant
Janet Schwegel	Director of Parliamentary Programs
Amanda LeBlanc	Deputy Editor of Alberta Hansard

8:31 a.m.

#### Monday, April 8, 2024

[Mr. Yao in the chair]

**The Chair:** Good morning, everyone. I'd like to call this meeting of the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee to order and welcome everyone in attendance. I'm Tany Yao, the MLA for Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo and chair of the committee. I'd like everyone that's joining me at the table to introduce themselves, and then I will call on those joining us remotely. We will begin to my right.

Mr. van Dijken: Glenn van Dijken, the MLA for Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock.

Mr. Dyck: Nolan Dyck, MLA for Grande Prairie.

Mrs. Petrovic: Chelsae Petrovic, MLA for Livingstone-Macleod.

Ms Wright: Peggy Wright, MLA for Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview.

Mr. Dach: Lorne Dach, MLA, Edmonton-McClung.

Ms Barron: Julie Barron, executive search.

Ms Mills: Trish Mills, executive search.

Ms Rempel: Jody Rempel, committee clerk.

The Chair: And on the phone. Ms Pitt?

Ms Pitt: Angela Pitt, MLA, Airdrie-East.

The Chair: Thank you very much. Is Irfan – no, he's not on yet.

Sorry. Just give us a moment here for some technical difficulties before the Member for Red Deer-South introduces himself. Jason, go ahead.

Mr. Stephan: Jason Stephan, MLA for Red Deer-South.

**The Chair:** All right. I'd note there are no substitutions today for the record.

Ah, Ms Irwin.

Member Irwin: Janis Irwin, Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood.

The Chair: Apologies.

Member Irwin: No problem.

**The Chair:** A few housekeeping items to address before we turn to the business at hand. Unless we move in camera, committee proceedings are being live streamed on the Internet and broadcast on Alberta Assembly TV. Committee members are encouraged, whenever possible, to have your camera on when you are speaking. The audio- and videostream and transcripts of meetings can be accessed via the Legislative Assembly website. Please set your cellphones and other devices to silent for the duration of this meeting.

We will go to the agenda now. Would a member move a motion to adopt the agenda, please?

Mr. van Dijken: So moved.

**The Chair:** Mr. van Dijken moves that the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee approve the proposed agenda as distributed for its April 8, 2024, meeting. All in favour, please say aye. All opposed in the room? Seeing none, on the phones. Angela, do you agree?

### Ms Pitt: Yeah. Agreed.

The Chair: Thank you so much. That motion is carried.

All right. Today we will continue our consideration of applications received for the Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer positions. To maintain the confidentiality of the applicants, it would be appropriate to move in camera. Could I have that motion, please? Mr. van Dijken moves that the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee, including the appropriate staff from the Legislative Assembly Office and the representatives from executive search, move in camera. All in favour, please say aye. All opposed in the room, please say no. Seeing none, on the phones. Angela, do you agree to move into camera?

### Ms Pitt: Agreed.

**The Chair:** Thank you so much for that. That motion is carried. With that, just give us a few minutes.

[The committee met in camera from 8:34 a.m. to 9:31 a.m.]

**The Chair:** All right. All right, everybody. Thank you so much. We are now back on the record. Do members have anything for discussion under other business? On the phones? Anyone have anything for discussion under other business? I see none.

With that, the next meeting will be at the call of the chair, when we get more information.

And with that, can I get a member to make a motion to adjourn?

Mr. Dyck: Motion to adjourn.

**The Chair:** The Member for Grande Prairie moves that the April 8, 2024, meeting of the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee be adjourned. All in favour, please say aye. All opposed in the room? That motion is carried. Again, we'll keep you informed as to when the next meeting is. Thank you all so much.

[The committee adjourned at 9:32 a.m.]

Published under the Authority of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta